Written by GBP Staff
Thursday, 16 March 2017 16:53 - Last Updated Thursday, 16 March 2017 17:47



UW-Green Bay has had a winning record every year since 1981 and by securing their 40th-consecutive winning season this year they now own the 2nd longest active streak in the nation. The Phoenix will face Purdue Friday in the 2017 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament.

MADISON - State Senator **Dave Hansen** (D-Green Bay) will be introducing a senate resolution honoring the accomplishments of the UWGB Women's basketball team. By defeating Detroit Mercy 64-52 in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship the Phoenix captured their 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons and another trip to the NCAA tournament.



"Enough cannot be said about the UWGB women's program. They are one of the best programs in the country year in and year out and a great source of for our university, our community and our state," said Hansen who is a UWGB graduate.

UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record every year since 1981 and by securing their 40th-consecutive winning season this year they now trail only Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation.

"This is a very exceptional group of young athletes who are well-coached and who have shown us yet again the kind of success that comes from hard work, discipline and team effort. There is an expectation of greatness at the start of every season and they lived up to that and more."

The Phoenix will enter the 2017 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament as a No. 8 seed in the Lexington Region and will face the No. 9-seed Purdue in the First Round in Notre Dame, Indiana.

Following is a copy of Senator Hansen's resolution:

Whereas, the UW-Green Bay women's basketball team captured its 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons by defeating Detroit Mercy 64-52 in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship; and

Whereas, the Phoenix clinched its 19th-consecutive conference championship this season by defeating Northern Kentucky, 74-37 to finish with a 15-3 record and tied with Wright State for a share of the regular-season championship; and

Whereas, UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record every year since 1981.

Whereas, UW-Green Bay secured its 40th-consecutive winning season this year and trails only Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation.

Whereas, redshirt graduate Mehryn Kraker was named the espnW mid-major player of the year, received the Horizon League Player of the Year award, and was named to the Horizon League All-Academic team; and

Whereas, junior Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All-Horizon League Second Team and All-Defensive Team, redshirt sophomore Jen Wellnitz was named to the All-Defensive Team, and Caitlyn Hibner earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team; and

Whereas, the Phoenix will enter the 2017 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament as a No. 8 seed in the Lexington Region and will face the No. 9-seed Purdue in the First Round in Notre Dame, Indiana; now, therefore, be it further

Hansen to Honor UWGB Women's Basketball Team

Written by GBP Staff
Thursday, 16 March 2017 16:53 - Last Updated Thursday, 16 March 2017 17:47

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the legislature of the state of Wisconsin hereby commends and congratulates the UW-Green Bay Women's Basketball Team on another very successful regular season and wishes them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament; and be it **further Resolved**,

That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Kevin Borseth, his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Mary Ellen Gillespie.

Legislative writer Jay Wadd contributed this story.