Monday July 22, 2024

An Independent Progressive Media Outlet

News Feeds:
Over 50 Black Elected Leaders Across Wisconsin Endorse Joe Biden PDF Print E-mail
Elections, Elected Officials, Political Parties
Written by Biden for Wisconsin Press   
Friday, 31 May 2024 11:01

milw-city-workersLaunch Wisconsin Black Voters for Biden-Harris.

MILWAUKEE - Just now in Milwaukee, Congresswoman Gwen Moore, Mayor Cavalier Johnson, and State Senator LaTonya Johnson announced they are joining over 50 Black current and former elected leaders and officials from across Wisconsin in endorsing Joe Biden and Kamala Harris for reelection, and launched Wisconsin Black Voters for Biden-Harris, a statewide organizing program to bolster our continued historic investments in outreach to the backbone of the Biden-Harris coalition – Black voters.

biden-harris-pusaThe elected leaders emphasized that the Biden-Harris administration has overseen record small business creation by Black entrepreneurs, increased Black wealth by 60%, ensured more Black Americans have health care coverage than ever before, capped the price of insulin at $35 per month for seniors, and forgiven billions in student-loan debt that disproportionately impacts Black borrowers.

In stark contrast, Donald Trump made life worse for Black Wisconsinites, including overseeing a spike in Black unemployment and uninsured rates. If reelected, he will undermine Black communities even more by repealing Obamacare and ripping away health care from millions of Black Americans, continuing to divide the nation by encouraging white supremacy, and supporting policy that widens the racial wealth gap.

“Today, I’m proud to join over 50 Black elected leaders from across Wisconsin endorsing Joe Biden and Kamala Harris,” said Congresswoman Gwen Moore. “Donald Trump was a disaster for Black Wisconsinites. During his time in office, he tried to gut Obamacare and supported tax cuts to the wealthy and big corporations that failed to 'trickle down' to our communities. Joe Biden and Kamala Harris have a strong record of delivering for Wisconsin, supporting historic investments in clean energy and good-paying jobs and helping lower the cost of health care and prescription drugs. This November, Black Wisconsinites are going to show up to re-elect Joe Biden and Kamala Harris.”

“Joe Biden and Kamala Harris have been champions for Black Wisconsinites, from increasing Black wealth, to spurring Black small businesses to start up at the fastest rate in 30 years, to investing billions to remove lead pipes here in Milwaukee and across America,” said Mayor Cavalier Johnson. “The contrast in this race is stark, and Donald Trump has long made clear that he doesn’t care about Wisconsin. That’s why I’m proud to stand with more than 50 Black elected leaders in endorsing Joe Biden and launching Black Voters for Biden-Harris.”

The list of more than 50 endorsements includes federal, state, and local leaders spanning Wisconsin, and highlights the overwhelming grassroots support building to reelect Joe Biden and Kamala Harris:

  1. Gwen Moore, Congresswoman

  2. Cavalier Johnson, Mayor of Milwaukee

  3. David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive

  4. Marcelia Nicholson, Chairwoman, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

  5. Mandela Barnes, Former Lieutenant Governor

  6. LaTonya Johnson, State Senator (6th Senate District)

  7. Kalan Haywood, Assembly Assistant Democratic Leader (16th Assembly District)

  8. Dora Drake, State Representative and Chair of the Wisconsin Legislative Black Caucus (11th Assembly District)

  9. LaKeshia Myers, State Representative (12th Assembly District)

  10. Shelia Stubbs, State Representative (77th Assembly District)

  11. Samba Baldeh, State Representative (48th Assembly District)

  12. Anna Maria Hodges, Milwaukee County Clerk of Circuit Court

  13. Kalvin Barrett, Dane County Sheriff

  14. Milele Coggs, Milwaukee Alder

  15. Larresa Taylor, Milwaukee Alder

  16. DiAndre Jackson, Milwaukee Alder

  17. Mark Chambers, Jr., Milwaukee Alder

  18. Sharlen Moore, Milwaukee Alder

  19. Felesia Martin, Milwaukee County Supervisor

  20. Willie Johnson, Jr., Milwaukee County Supervisor

  21. Priscilla Coggs-Jones, Milwaukee County Supervisor

  22. Sequanna Taylor, Milwaukee County Supervisor

  23. Amani Latimer Burris, Madison Alder

  24. Sabrina Madison, Madison Alder

  25. Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Madison Alder

  26. Anthony Gray, Dane County Supervisor

  27. Maia Pearson, Madison Metropolitan School District Board Vice President

  28. Donald Dantzler, Jr., Fitchburg Alder

  29. Frances Huntley-Cooper, former Mayor of Fitchburg

  30. Dana Pellebon, former Dane County Supervisor

  31. Amaad Rivera-Wagner, State Assembly Candidate

  32. Anthony Kennedy, Kenosha Alder

  33. Connie Cobb Madsen, former Racine County Register of Deeds

  34. Valena Coleman, Racine County Supervisor

  35. Alicia Jarrett, Racine Alder

  36. Sam Peete, Racine Alder

  37. Maurice Horton, Racine Alder

  38. Larry Mboga, Eau Claire Councilmember

  39. Yusuf Adama, Beloit Councilmember

  40. Sean Lowe, Wauwatosa Alder

  41. Margaret Arney, Wauwatosa Alder

  42. Darryl Johnson, Brown Deer Trustee

  43. Priscilla Hightower Thompson, Brown Deer Trustee

  44. Janette Braverman, former Ozaukee County Supervisor

  45. Amiee Leavy, School District of Beloit Board Member

  46. Tia Johnson, School District of Beloit Board President

  47. Todd Beadle, School District of Brown Deer Board President

  48. Felita Daniels Ashley, School District of Brown Deer Board Member

  49. Dorothea Macon, School District of Brown Deer Board Member

  50. Stacey Smith, former School District of Brown Deer Board Member

  51. Korbey White, Verona Area School District Board Member

  52. Marva Herndon, Milwaukee Public Schools Board President

  53. Grace Allen, Racine Unified School District Board Member

  54. April Harris, Racine Unified School District Board Member

  55. Marquell Johnson, Eau Claire Area School District Board Member

  56. Atifa Robinson, former Kenosha Unified School District Board Member

  57. Antonio Godfrey, Sr., Fond du Lac School District Board Member

Last Updated on Saturday, 01 June 2024 10:13
Tweet With Us:


Copyright © 2024. Green Bay Progressive. Designed by