Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

http://newiprogressive.com/images/stories/S5/caw-collage2-s5.jpg



At least 49 Members win races for local office and build progressive power across the state.

STATEWIDE - On Tuesday scores of Citizen Action of Wisconsin members were elected to local office, many of them with the volunteer support of local Citizen Action members who made phone calls, canvassed, and engaged in get-out-the-vote activities.

Citizen Action is building grassroots power throughout the state through our organizing co-op model. Citizen Action co-op members make sustaining donations to the organization and form self-governing local chapters to lead issue campaigns, conduct volunteer political work, and build progressive power. Citizen Action co-op members are united by an <u>8 year platform</u> that was adopted last year through a deep democratic process.

Statewide at least 49 Citizen Action Organizing Co-op members were elected to local office (full list of victories below).

In Milwaukee County, Citizen Action Milwaukee Co-op member Steve Shea's race for County Board was a major focus of volunteer activity. Shea showed the power of grassroots politics by winning against an opponent who was backed by tens of thousands in unregulated dark money expenditures funded by County Executive Chris Abele.

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

In Merrill, 25 year old Citizen Action North Central Wisconsin Co-op member Derek Woellner was elected Mayor in a stunning upset of a two term incumbent.

In Eau Claire, Citizen Action Western Wisconsin Co-op played a major role in electing 9 members, creating large progressive majorities on the County Board and City Council.

In Wausau Hmong Small Business Owner and Citizen Action North Central Wisconsin Co-op member Mary Thao was elected to the City Council.

In Brown County Citizen Action Northeast Wisconsin Co-op member Erik Hoyer won a hotly contested county board race. Erik is a leader in fighting against partisan gerrymandering, and shepherded a resolution on the subject through the County Board.



"The sweeping victories of highly progressive Citizen Action members across the state shows that grassroots political power still trumps dark money and big spending special interests," said **Robert Kraig** 

, Executive Director of Citizen Action of Wisconsin. "The blue wave which is sweeping across Wisconsin has major implications for the November elections."

Statewide List of Citizen Action Member Victories

Milwaukee County Board

Marcelia Nicholson

Steve Shea

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Sylvia Ortiz-Velez

Marina Dimitrijevic

Cudahy School Board

Michael Johnson

Oak Creek/Franklin School Board

Leah Schreiber Johnson

South Milwaukee School Board

David J. Maass

Glendale Mayor

Bryan Kennedy

Wausau City Council

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Mary Thao

Wausau School Board

Tricia Zunker

Marathon County Board

Kate Lo

Yee Leng Xiong

**Oneida County Board** 

Steve Schreier

Lincoln County Board

Julie Allen

Derek Woellner

Dora Gorski

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Hans Breitenmoser

**Robert Weaver** 

Wood County Board

Mark Holbrook

**Bill Clendenning** 

Bill Leichtam

Portage County Board

Robert Gifford (aka Bobby Gee)

Ladysmith School Board

Chrysa Ostenso

Mayor of Merrill

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Derek Woellner

Merrill City Council

Rob Norton

Village of Weston Trustee

Yee Leng Xiong

Eau Claire County Board

Sandra McKinney

Lorraine Henning

Don Mowry

Nancy Coffey

Judy Gatlin

Nick Smiar

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

James Dunning

Eau Claire City Council

Jeremy Grager

Andrew Werthman

Eau Claire School Board

Joe Luginbill

Chippewa County Board

Annette Hunt

Dunn County Board

Tom Quinn

Diane Morehouse

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Kitz Cleary

Sarah Kennedy

St. Croix County Board

Roy Sjoberg Tammy Moothedan

Brown County Board

Tom Sieber

Erik Hoyer

**Outagamie County Board** 

Cathy Thompson

Jerry Iverson

Green Bay School Board

Ed Dorff

Written by Citizen Action of Wisconsin, Matt Brusky Friday, 06 April 2018 17:10 -

Green Bay City Council

Barb Dorff