Legislature Honoring UWGB Women's Basketball Team

Written by GBP Staff Thursday, 06 April 2017 15:54 -



Bi-partisan team of local legislators, led by Dave Hansen, line up to grant much deserved honor to Horizon League Championship Phoenix.

GREEN BAY - State Senator **Dave Hansen** (D-Green Bay) announced today that the Legislature passed a resolution honoring the accomplishments of the UWGB Women's basketball team this week. Senate Joint Resolution 29, introduced by Hansen and sponsored by area representatives

Eric Genrich and Andre

Jacque

and area senators

Rob Cowles

and

Frank Lasee

, was adopted by both the State Senate and the State Assembly on Tuesday.



"This is a well-deserved honor for great group of young athletes who excelled both on and off the court," said Hansen. "I am pleased that my colleagues in the Legislature recognized their accomplishments in this way and I am so proud of our team and our university."

By defeating Detroit Mercy 64-52 in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship the Phoenix captured their 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons and another trip to the NCAA tournament.

"Enough cannot be said about the UWGB women's program. They are one of the best programs in the country year in and year out and a great source of pride for our university, our community and our state," said Hansen who is a UWGB graduate.

Legislature Honoring UWGB Women's Basketball Team

Written by GBP Staff Thursday, 06 April 2017 15:54 -

UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record every year since 1981 and by securing their 40th-consecutive winning season this year they now trail only Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation.

"This is a very exceptional group of young athletes who are well-coached and who have shown us yet again the kind of success that comes from hard work, discipline and team effort. There is an expectation of greatness at the start of every season and they lived up to that and more."

Jay Wadd contributed to this story.

Note: A copy of Senate Joint Resolution 29 is below:

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay women's basketball team.

Whereas, the UW–Green Bay women's basketball team captured its 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons by defeating University of Detroit Mercy, 64–52, in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship; and

Whereas, the Phoenix clinched its 19th–consecutive conference championship by defeating Northern Kentucky University, 74–37, to finish with a 15–3 record and tied with Wright State University for a share of the regular–season championship; and

Whereas, UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record in every year since 1981; and

Whereas, UW–Green Bay secured its 40th–consecutive winning season this year and trails only the University of Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation; and

Whereas, redshirt graduate Mehryn Kraker was named the espnW Mid-Major Player of the Year, received the Horizon League Player of the Year award, and was named to the Horizon League All-Academic Team; and

Whereas, junior Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All-Horizon League Second Team and

Legislature Honoring UWGB Women's Basketball Team

Written by GBP Staff Thursday, 06 April 2017 15:54 -

All-Defensive Team, redshirt sophomore Jen Wellnitz was named to the All-Defensive Team, and Caitlyn Hibner earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team; and

Whereas, the Phoenix will enter the 2017 NCAA women's basketball tournament as a no. 8 seed in the Lexington Region and will face the no. 9–seed Purdue University in the first round in Notre Dame, Indiana; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the UW–Green Bay women's basketball team on another very successful regular season and wishes them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Kevin Borseth and his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Mary Ellen Gillespie.