Sunday April 5, 2020

Forward with Education & Reason

News Feeds:
LWVGGB hosts 19th Amendment 100th Anniversary Celebration Event with 'First Women' PDF Print E-mail
Written by League of Women Voters of Greater Green Bay   
Wednesday, 12 February 2020 17:49

19th-amendmentOur local League of Women Voters will host a celebration of 'First Women' and the passing of the 19th Amendment 100 years ago on Friday afternoon at the Green Bay City Hall, 100 N Jefferson Street, 2nd Floor.

GREEN BAY, WI - On Friday, February 14 , the League of Women Voters of Greater Green Bay (LWVGGB) host “First Women” a celebration of 100 years of the League of Women Voters and being the first state to pass the 19th Amendment at City Hall in the City Council Chambers at 12:45 p.m.

The State of Wisconsin was the first State to pass the 19th Amendment 100 years ago and the League of Women Voters were there ensuring that women were informed, empowered and VOTING. This event recognizes the women in NE Wisconsin who were some of the first in leadership in the last 100 years such as Ane M Hanrahan who was the first Supervisor elected to a county board in Wisconsin – right here in Brown County in 1923. She was joined by Ellen Wilson in DePere, Mrs. Chas Hintz in Green Bay and Mrs. T. P. Silverwood also in Green Bay, who were all elected to the school board in 1924. The event will recognize and honor women in leadership from those first leaders to today – women in government, industry and public service will be at the event. Finally, Brown County Executive Streckenbach and Green Bay Mayor Eric Genrich will acknowledge the contribution the League of Women Voters of Greater Green Bay has made to the continuing effort to ensure that democracy works for all.

Event Details:
Friday, February 14, 2020
12:45 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Green Bay City Hall 100 N Jefferson Street 2nd Floor

n_nusbaumSpeakers: Brown County Executive Troy Streckenbach, Green Bay City Mayor Eric Genrich, and “the firsts:” first elected woman Lt. Governor Barbara Lawton, first woman elected Brown County Executive Nancy Nusbaum, First Native American woman elected to the Brown County Board Patty Hoeft, Jennifer Garner from US Senator Tammy Baldwin’s office, and other “firsts” yet to be announced.

patty-hoeftToday we are faced with many challenges that threaten to compromise our democracy and that is why the efforts of the League of Women Voters is so committed to support voting rights, to fight against voter suppression and discrimination at the local, state and national levels. This has been achieved primarily by educating and empowering voters, circulating special petitions, and intervening in several critical court cases. The League’s historic commitment to register, educate and mobilize voters is not only stronger, but more effective than ever, utilizing such tools as non-partisan candidate forums, education symposiums, voter registration events and on-line voter information services.

“We will continue to fight voter discrimination to ensure that our elections are fair, free and accessible,” said Karen Shley, LWVGGB Voter Services Director.

The League of Women Voters has a platform of issues that impact all people in the Greater Green Bay area and throughout Wisconsin such as improved access to health care, recognizing that Climate Change is a scientific reality that must be addressed to ensure a sustainable planet for everyone, defending natural resources, adequately funded and managed public education, and fair maps for equitable voter rights.

One hundred years after the League was founded in 1920, members of the League are proud of the great progress achieved when it comes to truly “Making Democracy Work For All.”


For more information about the upcoming LWVGGB Celebration please contact LWVGGB Board Member, Denise Gaumer Hutchison at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 February 2020 20:24
Tweet With Us:


Who's Online

We have 138 guests online

Follow on Twitter

Copyright © 2020. Green Bay Progressive. Designed by